Rijksmuseum launches new website and uploads 125,000 Artworks

The Rijksmuseum have just relaunched their website ahead of their reopening next year, and it is well worth visiting. They’ve added 125,000 artworks to the 30,000 that were previously available to view online, although I notice the search function is still only available in Dutch. (Perhaps the proudest moment of my ‘Dutch Golden Age’ MA was when I realised I knew enough decorative arts vocabulary to use their search engine!)

Personally, I am extremely excited about the full opening next spring. The Rijksmuseum has been closed for over a decade, so like many art historians of my generation I have never had access to the full collection. Although there are some incredible pieces on display in their highlights exhibition, it only really scratches the surface, particularly of the decorative arts collection. I can’t wait to explore their new galleries, and see some of the pieces that I’ve worked on from online images in the flesh.

 

Leave a Reply

